Digital Education & Student Life

Digital Education

The Digital Education team support colleagues across the University to help them get the most out of the available technologies for teaching and learning, share best practice and inspire experimentation with new digital enhanced teaching practices. The team also support the Digital Education Transformation Programme (DETP), in collaboration with academic colleagues and students. The DETP leads on a number of projects including use of video for learning, BlackBoard support, Poll Everywhere pilot and more. Each college has a dedicated Digital Education Developer, who offers face-to-face and online support in the use of digital tools for teaching and learning. Student Video Support Assistants also form part of the team and are available for Panopto support and video creation.

If you would like to find out more about Digital Education projects, please view the newsletter for quarterly updates.


Student Life

The Student Life team supports and enables a student-led approach to digital content and student engagement at the University of Lincoln. This has two key strategic aims – firstly to provide engaging content for current students focused on support and advice to support retention and positive and graduate outcomes, and secondly, giving students creating the content the opportunity to develop their skills and experience, enhancing their employability after graduation.

Working in partnership with student content creators, the team oversees the Student Life blog, YouTube and various UoLStudentLife social media accounts, and works collaboratively with Schools and Departments to encourage a similar approach across the University.

The Student Life team in collaboration with the Library also developed and launched the Learning at Lincoln website in July 2018. This new resource is aimed primarily at student offer-holders and new starters, giving them insights and guidance into learning and teaching at university using resources created by fellow students, support departments and academic staff.

The team are also currently working with ICT on the redevelopment of the University’s WordPress blogging platform. New themes and processes for managing blogs should be in place by the start of the 2018/19 academic year.

The Team

Below is a list of staff in the Digital Education & Student Life team. If you would like to find out more information about each staff member. Click on their name to follow through to their staff profile page.

Andy Beggan
Dean of Digital Education
abeggan@lincoln.ac.uk
01522 836041

Sammie Harnin
Programme Officer
sharnin@lincoln.ac.uk
01522 835406

Daniel Wakefield
Digital Education Engagement Officer
dwakefield@lincoln.ac.uk
01522 886034

Ben Atkinson
Digital Education Developer
batkinson@lincoln.ac.uk
01522 835827

Chavan Kissoon
Digital Education Developer
ckissoon@lincoln.ac.uk
01522 835644

Michael Shaw
Digital Education Developer
mshaw@lincoln.ac.uk
01522 835053

Tom Wright
Director of Digital Student Life
twright@lincoln.ac.uk
01522 886039

Jamie Mitchell
Digital Communities Co-ordinator
jmitchell@lincoln.ac.uk
01522 835496

Tara Ashton
Administrator
tashton@lincoln.ac.uk
01522 835432

Jez Thompson
Digital Communities Developer
jthompson@lincoln.ac.uk

Olivia Bramhall
Digital Student life Graduate Intern – (Social Media and Blogging Officer)
olbramhall@lincoln.ac.uk
01522 835269

Josh Brown
Digital Student life Graduate Intern – (Video Officer)
joshbrown@lincoln.ac.uk
01522 886175